Nielsen Honors Margaret John as 2nd Assembly District 'Woman of the Year'

Monday, March 21, 2011

(Sacramento) -Assemblyman Jim Nielsen (R-Gerber) today honored Redding resident Margaret 'Maggie' John as the 2011 'Woman of the Year' for the 2nd Assembly District during a special ceremony at the State Capitol. Maggie's extensive public involvement includes significant contributions as the Executive Director to the Shasta Women's Refuge. She has also served her community as Development Director for the Northern Valley Catholic Social Services as well as holding numerous positions within Blood Source North State

"I feel honored today to recognize Maggie John for her magnificent contributions to Shasta County," said Nielsen during today's ceremony. "Maggie is truly an outstanding example of servant-leadership that provides inspiration to all the people of her community."

Some of Maggie's contributions to the community include raising awareness about domestic violence and sexual assault issues through launching the 'Walk A Mile In Her Shoes' event, which got men involved with these critical issues. She also worked to integrate Blood Banking in Shasta College's nursing curriculum, and increased community awareness for donating blood. Maggie was recognized by the Shasta County Board of Supervisors with a Certificate of Recognition for Service and Commitment in 2009.

"I feel it is our responsibility to give voices of courage to those who have no voice," said Maggie following the ceremony. "This award is not mine, but for those who will one day find their voice." 

Maggie John was born in Oakland in 1946. She met her husband, Ray, at San Francisco State College and they were married in 1968. They lived in the Bay Area prior to their move to Redding in 1995.

Held annually, the Woman of the Year ceremony celebrates California's extraordinary women.  Started in 1987 to help commemorate Women's History Month, the event has become an annual Capitol tradition to salute community service.  Honorees are presented with a framed certificate from the State Assembly recognizing their outstanding contributions during a special ceremony in the Assembly chambers.