Governor: Curfew for All except some Bay Area Counties

Nielsen: Governor's edict establishes “two Californias where COVID is concerned”
Thursday, November 19, 2020

Today, Californians living in “Purple Tier” counties were told to comply with a draconian curfew from 10pm to 5am. Senator Jim Nielsen (R-Tehama) issued the following statement:

“It concerns me that the Governor has an ever-changing policy that attempts to dictate our way of life and commerce. It changes weekly. Over the months, this inconsistency has led to much confusion and contributed to the disruption of lives, the loss of jobs, and closures of schools and small businesses.

"Add to this the apparent preferential treatment given to three extremely wealthy and very Democratic counties, Marin, San Francisco and San Mateo (Silicon Valley). It would seem that in the eyes of our Governor, there are really two Californias - one for the uber-wealthy entitled class, and all the rest of us.

“This is just insane. It is confusing. There is no clear plan. This is no way to address a pandemic.”

PLEASE NOTE: San Mateo, Marin and San Francisco do not have to comply to this curfew as they are categorized in the Red Tier, while rural counties with lower positive rates are in the more restrictive Purple Tier.


Bay Area Red Tier:

San Francisco County - 39
San Mateo County - 27
Marin County - 7

Northern counties in the Purple Tier:

Napa County - 5
Yuba County - 22
Yolo County - 12

Average New Cases per day over last seven days

Bay Area Red Tier:

San Francisco County - 102
Marin County - 26
San Mateo County - 93                   

Northern counties in the Purple Tier:

Napa County - 37
Yuba County - 24
Yolo County - 45